Jabberwock Review


Jabberwock Review is pleased to announce the publication of our  Summer 2016 issue (37.1).

Jabberwock Review

Congratulations to Amina Gautier, whose third story collection, The Loss of All Lost Things, won the Elixir Press Award and was published February 1st. It features her story "Resident Lover," which first appeared in Jabberwock 32.1.

Congratulations to Jacqueline Doyle, whose essay "Who's Your Stepdaddy?" (Winter 2014, vol. 34.2)  has been selected as a "Notable Essay" in  Best American Essays 2015.

Congratulations to Toni Graham, one of the two winners of the 2015 Flannery O’Connor Prize for Short Fiction. The title story of her collection, The Suicide Club, appeared in the Winter 2012 issue of Jabberwock Review.


We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 Nancy D. Hargrove Editors' Prize for Fiction and Poetry.


Winner: Kristen Gentry, "A New World"
Second Place: Eric Schlich, “Alices in Manhattanland”
Finalists: Mason Boyles, “Hungry”; Andrew Gretes, “Stoic Auditions”; Kendall Klym, “A Professional Male Ballet Dancer in Twelve Steps”


Winner: John Sibley Williams, "Dewpoint"
Second Place: Tammy Robacker, “Mother, Morgue”
Finalists: Marcella Remund, “Letter to My Father”; Jay Sizemore, “How to Know if God Exists”

Congratulations to our winners and finalists!

Congratulations to our 2015 Pushcart Prize nominees!

Daniel Brauer, for his story, “Doll Love” (Summer 2015)
George Choundas, for his story, “Omens That This Day Will Not Be a Good Day” (Summer 2015)
Bryn Homuth, for his poem, “I See My Own MRI” (Winter 2015)
Kathryn Merwin, for her poem, “The Heirloom Centenary” (Summer 2015)
Laura Sobbott Ross, for her poem, “Barn Cats” (Summer 2015)
Sonia Scherr, for her story, “A Hole in the Universe” (Winter 2015)

English Department, Mississippi State University

Jabberwock Review is a literary journal published semi-annually by students and faculty of Mississippi State University. The journal consists of art, poetry, fiction, and non-fiction from around the world. Funding is provided by the Office of the Provost, the College of Arts & Sciences, the Shackouls Honors College, the Department of English, fundraisers, and subscriptions.

For further information about Jabberwock Review, contact

Becky Hagenston, Editor (email)
Ciera Higginbotham, Associate Editor